Quick Sport Round-Up

Posted on Updated on

Formula One
The latest Grand Prix was held at Silverstone. Along with the usual excitement that comes with watching Formula One the Perilli tyres took a moment of the spotlight with 6 blow outs.

The race result was undoubtably changed by the unreliability of the tyre with Lewis Hamilton  leading at the time of his tyre failure.

The fact that it was the left rear tyre on each of the 6 cars pointed to a failure somewhere whether tyre or track & Pirelli’s motor sport boss Paul Hembery stated they would carry out an investigation immediately to find the cause.
It appears that they have & are expected to announce changes today to combat the problem.
According to the BBC Sport website Pirelli will be using strengthened rear tyres for the next race in Germany & will be reverting back to their 2012 tyre for the rest of the season.

The strengthened tyre & the 2012 tyre both use internal belts made of Kevlar instead of steel which should be more flexible.

The FIA have allowed this change as it is due to safety issues & have allowed all race drivers to take part in the “young driver” tests this month to help Pirelli develop the tyres.

I would love to write something here about Mark Webber’s decision to leave F1 at the end of the season. But I feel that this article on BBC Sport says it all far more eloquently than I could. He is a top bloke, down to earth & clearly doing something he loves. I don’t think I will be the only one to miss him next season.

Wimbledon
I have tried to keep up with the goings on at Wimbledon as best I can but everything seems to be happening so fast. With all the injuries & shock exits it’s hard to keep up!

Laura Robson unfortunately lost her match yesterday against Kaia Kanepi. It was close run but she didn’t pull anything out of the bag to surpass her opponent.

Laura has become the first British player in 15 years to reach the 4th round of the women’s singles which will see her climb the world rankings & for that she should be very proud. (Especially as she is only 19 & has many more tennis playing years to come.)

It is said that she will now turn her attention to the US Open where she also reached the last 16 in 2012.

Serena Williams also lost her match yesterday against Sabine Lisicki. It was a shock for all those watching but Serena sees it differently saying “It’s definitely not a shock. I just need to do better.”
She added “I felt I was on the verge of winning. I felt really good & really confident…At one point I just was physically unable to hold my serve. My first serve percentage was going down…For me, I have to be able to serve well, especially on this court, & especially going up against such a really, really strong server like Sabine.”

Andy Murray won his match against Mikhail Youzhny. There have been concerns regarding his back (which kept him from competing in the French Open) as he was seen wincing a few times during the match.

When asked about it after his latest win Murray said “It felt way, way better than it was a few weeks ago. Now that I’m playing, there’s no chance I would stop.”
However, he also stated that it took him 20 minutes more than usual to recover from the match. “I need to make sure I do all the right things, like ice bathing, having my massage, & taking care of my body…I don’t want it to be a case of things creeping back up on me. I want to take care of my body. It’s my main priority, this tournament.”

KH Signature 2cm

 

 

Related Articles:

Leave a Reply

