14th Athletics World Championships

Posted on Updated on

IAAF Moscow

Today the 14th Athletics World Championships starts, held in Moscow.
For many of the competitors it will be the first main tournament since the London Olympics.

British Athletics has named a team of 60 who will compete.

British Athletics performance director Neil Black said:

“The team selected for GB & NI are a mix of defending champions, potential medallists, finalists and some really exciting young talents that we see as future medallists,”

“Last weekend’s Sainsbury’s British Championships was a brilliant stage for the world trials, and we saw some world class performances. It gave the selectors a real opportunity to see the athletes in championship mode and we were not disappointed.

“A year on from the Games and it is great to look forward to Moscow with the selected team, as we take our first steps in the build up towards Rio 2016 and London 2017.”


100m: Harry Aikines-Aryeetey, Dwain Chambers, James Dasaolu.
200m: James Ellington, Adam Gemili, Delano Williams.
400m: Nigel Levine.
800m: Andrew Osagie, Michael Rimmer.
1500m: Chris O’Hare.
5000m: Mo Farah.
10,000m: Farah.
110mH: William Sharman.
400mH: Dai Greene, Sebastian Rodger, Rhys Williams.
3000mSC: James Wilkinson.
Long Jump: TBA.
High Jump: Robbie Grabarz.
Pole Vault: Steve Lewis.
Discus: Brett Morse.
Decathlon: Ashley Bryant.
20km Race Walk: Alex Wright.
4x100m: Aikines Aryeetey, Chambers, Dasaolu, Ellington, Gemili, Richard Kilty, Andrew Robertson, Deji Tobais.
4x400m: Michael Bingham, Jamie Bowie, Luke Lennon-Ford, Levine, Martyn Rooney, Conrad Williams, Delano Williams.

100m: Asha Philip.
200m: Anyika Onuora, Jodie Williams.
400m: Christine Ohuruogu.
800m: Jessica Judd, Laura Muir, Marilyn Okoro.
1500m: Hannah England, Laura Weightman.
100mH: Tiffany Porter.
400mH: Meghan Beesley, Eilidh Child, Perri Shakes-Drayton.
3000mSC: Eilish McColgan.
Long Jump: Shara Proctor, Lorraine Ugen.
Hammer: Sophie Hitchon.
Heptathlon: Jessica Ennis-Hill, Katarina Johnson-Thompson.
Marathon: Sonia Samuels, Susan Partridge.
4x100m: Philip, Hayley Jones, Annabelle Lewis, Ashleigh Nelson, Bianca Williams, Dina Asher-Smith, Williams.
4x400m: Margaret Adeoye, Child, Shana Cox, Kirsten McAslan, Kelly Massey, Christine Ohuruogu, Victoria Ohuruogu, Onuora, Shakes-Drayton.

Quote & team lists taken from www.iaaf.org/competitions/iaaf-world-championships/news/farah-and-ennis-lead-british-team-for-moscow


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s